24 Mar 2010


7 Comments Brokenbeat, Electronic, Experimental Tags: , ,

Flying Lotus is finished his acclaimed masterpiece and is ready to share it with the rest of us. This album is apparently one seamless piece of music, an opus, a journey through an astral landscape. It’s been described as a “space opera” amongst other things – an appropriate tittle that suggests the perplexing scale of this cosmic body of unearthly music. I’m not quite sure how he’s done it, one can only guess and make assumptions as to how he has crafted cosmogramma into a single entity, having also curated many guest appearances, including a collaboration with Thom York on the track “And The World Laughs With You.”

I have an inkling that there will be at least a few new surprises on this album in addition to the signature Dilla-inspired beat work we’ve come to associate with his music. 3×3 featured tracks from Lotus that didn’t even have beats, and personally, I found that refreshing. Lotus recently did an interview with Gilles Peterson on Radio One where he showcased some of the new materials from the album; unfortunately, that show is no longer up on the BBC player, but someone’s taken the time to edit the tracks from that broadcast into a mini cosmogramma preview. There are more rips floating about but I didn’t want to spoil all the fun.


01. Clock Catcher
02. Pickled!
03. Nose Art
04. Intro//A Cosmic Drama
05. Zodiac Shit
06. Computer Face//Pure Being
07. And The World Laughs With You ft. Thom Yorke
08. Arkestry
09. Mmmhmm ft.Thundercat
10. Do The Astral Plane
11. Satelllliiiiiteee
12. German Haircut
13. Recoiled
14. Dance Of The Pseudo Nymph
15. Drips//Auntie’s Harp
16. Table Tennis ft. Laura Darlington
17. Galaxy In Janaki

Cosmogramma marks my second “must have” albums of 2010 and will be released in early May through Warp records. Speaking of which, Pre-orders for the first edition CD’s or gatefold vinyl are avaiable now through Bleep. These limited edition copies come with some extra fancy packaging and maybe some other stuff. Read more and order it here.

Flying Lotus – Quakes
[audio:0310/04 Quakes.mp3]
Gonjasufi – Ancestors (Produced by Flying Lotus)
[audio:0310/03 Ancestors.mp3]

written by tonyharrow
The author didn‘t add any Information to his profile yet.

7 Responses to “cosmogramma.”

  1. timic says:

    Nice post Tony. Actually might gonna buy this warp release. But Warp is just brilliant in general! Thanks for sharing these really wonderful tunes mate.


  2. nop3 says:

    The cosmogramma preview sounds pretty dope. I think some really good things are going to come of this album. I hope so at least ; )

  3. Tweets that mention cosmogramma. | PHASE02 - Love for art and music -- Topsy.com says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by MilkMoneyMaffia. MilkMoneyMaffia said: muzik news: cosmogramma.: Flying Lotus is finished his acclaimed masterpiece and is ready to share it with the res… http://bit.ly/9tktMO [...]

  4. Jack Herror says:

    what’s your other must have album?
    looking forward to the flying lotus cd + gonjasufi album is great

  5. tonyharrow says:

    Herror: four tet – there is love in you. see this archive entry for more info: https://phase02.org/2010/01/there-is-love/

  6. moises says:

    i’ve been on flying lotus for a while now, it’s thanks to post like this one that I first got introduced to flying lotus and as many of you out there, I’ve been in love with the flylo sound ever since. On a personal note I just want to say that flying lotus has evoked some of the richest emotional responses i’ve experienced while listening to music.
    Thank you flylo.

  7. tonyharrow says:

    : thanks for sharing your thoughts :)

Leave a Reply