21 Oct 2011

TKOL 1234567

1 Comment Experimental, Techno Tags: ,

TKOL RMX 1234567, the remix album of Radiohead’s latest work, The king of limbs, has been out in Europe for a week now. I noticed that lot’s of people criticised it and, well,  lot’s of you out there have the opinion that remix albums can’t outshine the original and I agree… in most cases, that is, cause this is something completely different! Artists like Caribou, Nathan Fake, Jacques Greene, Four Tet, Blawan, Modeselektor, Jamie XX and SBTRKT have all given their own interpretation of the tracks of the album. The result: a superb mix of reconstructed Radiohead DNA thrown into a new form with respect to the original feel. Of course, some are going to say that a lot sounds impersonal and that the hype associated with these names is overrated. I say: yes, you have a point – somewhere – but you still got to admit you’ll find at least one track on this album that you’re going to like.
Check out the remix by Modeselektor. It’s best to describe it as a weirdo-ish kind of techno…
Buy the album here.

Radiohead – Good Evening Mrs Magpie (Modeselektor RMX)


Tracklist For TKOL RMX 1234567:

Disc One
01. Little By Little [Caribou Remix]
02. Lotus Flower [Jacques Greene Remix]
03. Morning Mr. Magpie [Nathan Fake Remix]
04. Bloom [Harmonic 313 Remix]
05. Bloom [Mark Pritchard Remix]
06. Feral [Lone Remix]
07. Morning Mr. Magpie [Pearson Sound/Scavenger Remix]
08. Separator [Four Tet Remix]

Disc Two
01. Give Up The Ghost [Thriller Houseghost Remix]
02. Codex [Illum Sphere Remix]
03. Little By Little [Shed Remix]
04. Give Up The Ghost [Brokenchord Remix]
05. TKOL [Altrice Remix]
06. Bloom [Blawan Remix]
07. Good Evening Mrs. Magpie [Modeselektor Remix]
08. Bloom [Objekt Remix]
09. Bloom [Jamie XX Rework]
10. Separator [Anstam Remix]
11. Lotus Flower [SBTRKT Remix]

written by Oli
Music journalist based in Ireland/Belgium.
Related Posts

One Response to “TKOL 1234567”

  1. Tim says:

    a must-have album! Awesome remix!

Leave a Reply